NRLW to expand to ten teams in 2023 with Canberra, North Queensland, Cronulla and Wests Tigers to join the league

A group of rugby league players celebrate winning a premiership

ABC Sport

The NRLW will expand to a 10-team tournament in 2023 after Cronulla, North Queensland, Canberra and Wests Tigers were awarded licences for the competition on Wednesday.

As first reported by AAP last month, the NRL has opted to take a more aggressive approach with an expansion of the women’s game.

“We have a blueprint for investing in the women’s game at all levels. We have seen from with the quality of the 2021 NRLW Premiership and the tremendous growth in female participation that we have capacity for sustainable growth,” said ARLC chairman Peter V’landys.

“The commission have again demonstrated that the women’s game is a strategic priority. The quality of the club submissions was excellent.

Read more…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

We acknowledge and pay our respects to the Traditional Owners of country throughout Australia

Raidercast est. 2009 as
Terms & Conditions of Use